AIPlayPark

Vendor profile

Smith.ai: HIPAA, BAA, Booking, EHR Integrations and Pricing From Its Own Pages

AI plus live agentsScore 2 of 12
  • HIPAA 0/2
  • BAA 0/2
  • 24/7 1/1
  • Books 0/2
  • EHRs 0/2
  • Pricing 1/1
  • Medical only 0/1
  • Languages 0/1

Best for: Practices that want human receptionists or a human and AI mix

Human plans from 300 dollars a month for 30 calls to 2,100 dollars for 300 calls; AI receptionist from a free 25-call tier to 500 dollars a month (as published on Nov 2, 2026). We found no HIPAA or BAA statement on its pricing, AI receptionist or industries pages.

/
By the AIPlayPark editorial team, part of MedReception AI

What Smith.ai publishes, criterion by criterion

Every quote below is taken from smith.ai on the date shown, as it read on that day. Where a value says not stated, the pages we read did not address it; that is a description of the pages, not a judgment about the product. The vendor can request a correction through our contact page.

Rubric criteria, values, points and evidence for Smith.ai
CriterionWhat the pages statePointsQuote, source and date
HIPAA complianceStates it is not HIPAA compliant and cannot handle PHI calls0 of 2
Smith.ai's virtual receptionist FAQ, as published on Nov 2, 2026, reads: 'Smith.ai is not HIPAA-compliant, so we cannot handle calls that involve protected health information (PHI).' The same answer says the company works with medical, dental and wellness practices only for non-PHI call handling such as answering FAQs, taking messages, qualifying new patient leads and transferring calls, and it recommends that practices needing HIPAA-compliant support discuss their requirements with Smith.ai before getting started.
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 2, 2026

Note: Smith.ai's virtual receptionist FAQ, as published on Nov 2, 2026, reads: 'Smith.ai is not HIPAA-compliant, so we cannot handle calls that involve protected health information (PHI).' The same answer says the company works with medical, dental and wellness practices only for non-PHI call handling such as answering FAQs, taking messages, qualifying new patient leads and transferring calls, and it recommends that practices needing HIPAA-compliant support discuss their requirements with Smith.ai before getting started. (smith.ai, Nov 2, 2026)

Business associate agreementNo. States it is not HIPAA compliant and cannot handle PHI calls0 of 2
Smith.ai's virtual receptionist FAQ, as published on Nov 2, 2026, reads: 'Smith.ai is not HIPAA-compliant, so we cannot handle calls that involve protected health information (PHI).' The same answer says the company works with medical, dental and wellness practices only for non-PHI call handling such as answering FAQs, taking messages, qualifying new patient leads and transferring calls, and it recommends that practices needing HIPAA-compliant support discuss their requirements with Smith.ai before getting started.
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 2, 2026

Note: Smith.ai's virtual receptionist FAQ, as published on Nov 2, 2026, reads: 'Smith.ai is not HIPAA-compliant, so we cannot handle calls that involve protected health information (PHI).' The same answer says the company works with medical, dental and wellness practices only for non-PHI call handling such as answering FAQs, taking messages, qualifying new patient leads and transferring calls, and it recommends that practices needing HIPAA-compliant support discuss their requirements with Smith.ai before getting started. (smith.ai, Nov 2, 2026)

Coverage24/71 of 1
On after-hours, Smith.ai publishes 24/7 live-staffed coverage on every virtual receptionist plan and 24/7 AI call answering on its AI receptionist plans.
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 2, 2026
Books appointmentsTakes messages0 of 2
Smith.ai's virtual receptionist FAQ, as published on Nov 2, 2026, reads: 'Smith.ai is not HIPAA-compliant, so we cannot handle calls that involve protected health information (PHI).' The same answer says the company works with medical, dental and wellness practices only for non-PHI call handling such as answering FAQs, taking messages, qualifying new patient leads and transferring calls, and it recommends that practices needing HIPAA-compliant support discuss their requirements with Smith.ai before getting started.
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 2, 2026
Named EHR integrationsNone named on the pages we read (as of 2026-11-02)0 of 2No statement found on the pages we read (as of Nov 2, 2026).
Published pricingPublished, from $150 per month1 of 1
AI receptionist: free tier of 25 calls, Pro $150 a month at $2.00 per call, Enterprise $500 a month at $1.67 per call. States it is not HIPAA-compliant and cannot handle PHI calls.
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 2, 2026
Healthcare focusnot stated on the pages we read (as of 2026-11-02)0 of 1No statement found on the pages we read (as of Nov 2, 2026).
Languagesnot stated on the pages we read (as of 2026-11-02)0 of 1No statement found on the pages we read (as of Nov 2, 2026).

Not scored, shown for context

Who answers
AI plus live agents
Human plans from 300 dollars a month for 30 calls to 2,100 dollars for 300 calls; AI receptionist from a free 25-call tier to 500 dollars a month (as published on Nov 2, 2026). We found no HIPAA or BAA statement on its pricing, AI receptionist or industries pages.
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 2, 2026
Lowest published monthly price
$150 per month
AI receptionist: free tier of 25 calls, Pro $150 a month at $2.00 per call, Enterprise $500 a month at $1.67 per call. States it is not HIPAA-compliant and cannot handle PHI calls.
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 2, 2026

Where Smith.ai appears

Alternatives to Smith.ai

Other ai plus live agents services, highest rubric score first.

Voice agents rubric

Smith.ai on the voice agents rubric: 12 of 12

Human plus AIScore 12 of 12
  • Pricing 1/1
  • Trial 1/1
  • Inbound 1/1
  • Outbound 1/1
  • Books 1/1
  • Integrations 2/2
  • Handoff 1/1
  • Languages 1/1
  • 24/7 1/1
  • Security 1/1
  • Channels 1/1

Scoring note: Security: the only SOC 2 statement is in a blog webinar recap, not on a product or security page (the site has none). The site states it is not HIPAA compliant. Outbound calls are attributed to live agents on Virtual Receptionist plans, not to the AI. Starting price is the lowest paid AI plan; a $0 free tier exists. The integrations directory lists 136 tools; the table names the 15 on the CRM and Zapier page.

Every quote below is taken from smith.ai on the date shown, as it read on that day. Where a value says not stated, the pages we read did not address it; that is a description of the pages, not a judgment about the product. The vendor can request a correction through our contact page.

Voice agents rubric criteria, values, points and evidence for Smith.ai
CriterionWhat the pages statePointsQuote, source and date
Published pricingPublished, from $150 per month1 of 1
Smith.ai's AI receptionist pricing page lists a Free forever plan at $0 a month with 25 live calls a month and $3.00 per call after that, Pro at $150 a month at $2.00 per call, and Enterprise at $500 a month at $1.67 per call, as published on Nov 5, 2026.
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 5, 2026
Free trial or free tierFree trial or free tier stated1 of 1
Smith.ai's homepage offers a free forever tier of 25 calls a month and says "Try it free before you commit."
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 5, 2026
Answers inbound callsAnswers inbound calls1 of 1
Smith.ai's homepage says "Smith.ai answers every call, qualifies every lead, books the consultation live on the call."
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 5, 2026
Places outbound callsPlaces outbound calls1 of 1
Smith.ai's homepage says that on Virtual Receptionist plans its live agents place outbound calls to confirm appointments, return missed calls and follow up on leads.
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 5, 2026
Books appointmentsBooks appointments1 of 1
Smith.ai's homepage lists appointment booking, described as scheduling consultations live on the call with no follow-up required.
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 5, 2026
Named integrationsSalesforce, HubSpot, ActiveCampaign, Clio, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Zapier, Make, Google Spreadsheet, Calendly, HighLevel, ServiceTitan, MyCase, PracticePanther, Zoho2 of 2
Smith.ai's CRM and Zapier integration page names Salesforce, HubSpot, ActiveCampaign, Clio, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Zapier, Make, Google Spreadsheet, Calendly, HighLevel, ServiceTitan, MyCase, PracticePanther and Zoho among its integrations and says it has over 7,000 integrations.
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 5, 2026
Handoff to a personTransfers or escalates to a person1 of 1
Smith.ai's homepage says complex or urgent matters are routed and that the call can be transferred to your team or one of its Live Agents immediately when needed.
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 5, 2026
LanguagesMultilingual (2 languages)1 of 1
Smith.ai's AI receptionist page lists bilingual call handling with "Conversational fluency in English and Spanish."
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 5, 2026
Coverage24/71 of 1
Smith.ai's AI receptionist page says "Your AI receptionist answers on the first ring, 24/7."
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 5, 2026
Security statementStated on its own pages1 of 1
Smith.ai's blog recap of a September 14, 2026 webinar quotes the company saying "we're SOC 2 compliant" and that it is undergoing an audit for HIPAA attestation; no SOC 2 statement appears on its product or pricing pages, and its /security link returns 404.
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 5, 2026
ChannelsVoice plus SMS, chat or email1 of 1
Smith.ai's homepage says that after a call the caller may receive an SMS with a booking confirmation or a request for further action.
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 5, 2026

Not scored, shown for context

Kind of product
Human plus AI
Smith.ai's homepage says "AI handles the routine, live agents handle the complex." and that for complex calls the AI hands off to a human receptionist from its Live Agent Network.
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 5, 2026
Lowest published monthly price
$150 per month
Smith.ai's AI receptionist pricing page lists a Free forever plan at $0 a month with 25 live calls a month and $3.00 per call after that, Pro at $150 a month at $2.00 per call, and Enterprise at $500 a month at $1.67 per call, as published on Nov 5, 2026.
From smith.ai, as published on Nov 5, 2026

Alternatives to Smith.ai on this rubric

Other human plus ai vendors in the voice agents table, highest rubric score first.

/
By the AIPlayPark editorial team, part of MedReception AI